Office of Public Affairs

4th Floor Koren Building
718 Fifth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone: 412.396.6050
Fax: 412.396.2243

    A A Email Print Share

    DU Wellness Team Honored for Community Service by State Pharmacy Association

    Oct. 20, 2011

    The Pennsylvania Pharmacy Association (PPA) selected the Duquesne University Wellness Team to receive the 2011 George H. Searight Community Service Award.

    From left, Dr. Suzanne Higginbotham, Dr. Monica Skomo, Dr. Robert Laux and Pharmacy Dean Dr. J. Douglas Bricker with the George H. Searight Community Service Award, which they received at the PPA Annual Conference.

    The Wellness Team award recipients are Dr. Suzanne Higginbotham, director of pharmacy care, of Wexford, and clinical pharmacists Dr. Monica Skomo of Cranberry Township and Dr. Robert Laux of Bethel Park.

    The Searight Award is presented to those whom have shown outstanding devotion and service to PPA and their national or local association and for outstanding community service that has enhanced the image of the profession within the community. The team received the award at the Sept. 24 PPA annual conference in King of Prussia, PA.

    The Wellness Team is a part of Duquesne University’s Academic Partners Program, a pharmacist-coordinated provider of disease prevention and disease management services for the campus and Pittsburgh community. Team members offer complimentary health and wellness screenings to uninsured or medically underinsured populations. They have been able to provide more than 2,000 people with health screening and immunizations that otherwise would have been unavailable to them. The team consistently pursues efforts to educate and offer vaccinations on campus and to the community.

    The PPA recognized the Wellness Team’s dedication to fulfilling Duquesne’s mission by providing health and wellness through service to the Church, the community, the nation and the world.

    Media Contacts